Apple has already made the iOS 4.1 firmware live for everyone to download and upgrade. The question is should you take the leap or not? What are the advantages of upgrading to 4.1 and what do you stand to lose. iPhone 3G users might be tempted for performance fixes. But should you risk losing your unlock?
Most of you might already have been asked by iTunes if you want to upgrade to iOS 4.1. If not, you can check our iOS 4.1 upgrade guides:
- iOS 4.1 via iTunes
- Direct Download Links
But before you rush to upgrade, do hear us out fully.
What’s new in iOS 4?
Steve Jobs announced at the fall 2010 music event what we should expect from iOS 4.1. Let’s take a quick look at the features. For our full coverage of the features go.
- Game Center (Not for iPhone 3G)
- iTunes TV show rentals
- iTunes Ping
- HDR Photos
- HD Video Uploads
- Performance Fix for iPhone 3G
UPDATE: You will need iOS 4.1 to receive Facetime calls from or make calls to iPod Touch users.
So, why should you we be tempted. Obviously, iPhone 4 users will want to try the HDR photography while iPhone 3G users will want the speed upgrade. We previously discussed how iOS 4.1 enhances iPhone 3G performance and showed you a test video from Lifehacker.
Should I upgrade?
iPhone 4 Users:
If you have a factory unlocked iPhone and don’t care about Jailbreaking you can upgrade right away as you have nothing to lose. However, if you use a software unlock like Ultrasnow then you must stay away from the upgrade. Wait for a solution from dev-team which will enable you to upgrade without changing your baseband.
iPhone 3G/3GS Users:
For factory unlocked iPhone users, again same thing applies. Others MUST NOT upgrade to the iOS 4.1 firmware. Chances are that you might lose your unlock forever.
Here’s what the iPhone dev-team has to say:
Don’t accept it…it’s a trap!
This time of year there are lots of new iPhone owners, and not everybody knows that accepting new iOS updates is the surest way to lose your jailbreak and/or unlock. While those of you who have Cydia or TinyUmbrella backups of your FW hashes will always be able to get back to 4.0.1 if you make this mistake, this doesn’t hold for unlockers.There’s currently no known way to revert your baseband — if you update your baseband you’ll lose the ultrasn0w unlock, possible forever.
Please stay away from this 4.1 release until a safe jailbreak procedure (which also preserves ultrasn0w) is developed and released.
So now we have made you aware as to what exactly you stand to lose and thus enable you to decide for yourself if it’s okay to take the leap. Anyone upgrading? Do let us know if the grass is greener on the other side and by how much?