_ap_ufes{"success":true,"siteUrl":"www.callingallgeeks.org","urls":{"Home":"http://www.callingallgeeks.org","Category":"http://www.callingallgeeks.org/category/android/","Archive":"http://www.callingallgeeks.org/2014/10/","Post":"http://www.callingallgeeks.org/mobogenie-alternate-android-google-play-marketplace/","Page":"http://www.callingallgeeks.org/about/whiz-techy/","Nav_menu_item":"http://www.callingallgeeks.org/113112/","Wpcf7_contact_form":"http://www.callingallgeeks.org/?post_type=wpcf7_contact_form&p=36641","Feedback":"http://www.callingallgeeks.org/?post_type=feedback&p=113728"}}_ap_ufee

CallingAllGeeks

No More Files and Pages Feature in Google Groups

No More Files and Pages Feature in Google Groups

One of the benefits of having Google Groups is to share, discussing information and files within your group. But now Google is no more giving you the option to share the documents in Google Groups.

According to Google,

We have decided to stop supporting the pages and files features. We believe that this move will improve your experience storing and sharing files as other products, such as Google Docs and Google Sites, are designed specifically for file storage and page creation.


From November 2010, you won’t be able to create, edit or share file and pages in Google groups. You will able to view the content and you can download the existing file but no more uploading and sharing files will be allowed in Google groups. And after February 2011, you won’t be able to access the files and content thus you can now extract all the files with new zip-download feature.

This is the message which we have received in our Group:

Google Groups will no longer be supporting the Welcome Message feature. Starting January 13, you won’t be able to edit your welcome messages, but you will still be able to view and download the existing content

So now if you want to share files you have to go for Google Docs or any other file sharing product. I know that if you always share files and pages in group then you will surely miss the feature but you can try Google docs which is again a user-friendly product from Google.

Do you think this is useful step by Google or you are not happy with stopping sharing feature? Do let us know in comments.

Article by WhizTechy

Whiz has written 123 articles.

If you like This post, you can follow shoutmetech on Twitter. Subscribe to shoutmetech feed via RSS or EMAIL to receive instant updates.


{ 3 comments… add one }

  • Drewdove October 17, 2010, 1:39 pm

    It’s not so much that they’re eliminating IMHO essential elements from the groups pages but in shutting down the discussion on the help forum they’re inadvertently giving group owners like myself a big middle finger after saying “this and that are going away, deal with it cause you get what you pay for!” And having news reports that Google is making money hand over fist doesn’t help much. Rant over, spleen vented. ;-)

  • arazdow January 7, 2011, 3:08 am

    agreed, this is a bad move. I just created a group for use by a neighborhood association and saw the announcement as I was uploading the bylaws. The group is rendered useless. They recommend using Google Docs, which I do use, but doesn’t have a “share with Google Group” feature, so I can’t really use it for that. The problem with free services is that they can stop them anytime. I hope millions have learned not to trust Google anymore from this experience. I guess any institution with the motto “don’t be evil” is probably going to be.

  • true February 7, 2011, 9:03 pm

    Ohhh noo!!! This is not fair! I miss this feature badly as it was very user friendly. I was able to share and retrieve documents and ppt’s from my classmates and it was very easily accessible with one click. The main advantage was that even if I missed to read the e-mail, whenever I logged in the group, all the files were saved there and I was able to choose the file that I wanted to download. Now that option is not available sharing has become difficult!!!! I tried using Google docs and I just hate it … because if you miss the e-mail from the person who has shared, you will never know about that! I just HATE IT!!! :(:(:(

Leave a Comment